Latest News

ISSHK Created New Guinness World Record with "Most Nationalities in a Tai Chi Class"

(Hong Kong - 11 April 2019) International Social Service Hong Kong Branch (ISSHK) announces today that it has successfully created a new Guinness World Record "Most Nationalities in a Tai Chi Class" with participation of 55 nationalities.

The Tai Chi class was held on 18 November 2018 at Wan Chai's Southorn Playground. A highlight in ISSHK's year-round 60th anniversary programme, the event embodies the ISS belief in equal opportunities for all regardless of race, nationality or creed. The event also aimed to promote the spirit of communal harmony through Tai Chi - a Chinese martial art best known for its harmonious movements and suitable for all, young and old.

The Guest of Honour, Mr Matthew Cheung, Chief Secretary for Administration of the HKSAR government, commented in his speech at the event that “ISS Hong Kong has all along been a valued partner of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government in providing support services to generations of new immigrants and ethnic minorities in Hong Kong.” “I must say that in the last 20 years, I worked very closely with ISS Hong Kong. They are truly my bona fide partner in providing welfare support for the under-privileged and disadvantaged in Hong Kong,” said Mr Matthew Cheung.

After conducting the kick-off ceremony together with other officiating guests, Mr Cheung sounded the air horn to start the 35-minute Tai Chi class with the participation of some 400 people of 55 nationalities to set a new Guinness World Record. The 55 countries are: (in alphabetical order): America, Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Laos, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Uganda, Poland, Romania, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Venezuela and Vietnam.